Obsessed with Type and Jessica Hische’s Daily Drop Caps


I wish I was more artistic. More creative. I wish I had the ability to make stuff like my own clothes or household knick-knacks, or even the talent to paint a decent picture.

I use words instead. Words and paper.

According to 2010 New Year’s Resolution No. 1, I’m going to be making a fat collection of words on paper with the first issue of Bird Fly Good, a new journal of poetry with work from some of my favorite poets from Austin and elsewhere. I’ll be putting some of my snazzy new bookbinding skills to the test, and my dear friend and talented designer Katie Daly will be busting out the design for the cover.

I spent some time perusing the design blogs, like the talented Fickle Fig and Good On Paper Design, and sites of some of my favorite small presses, such as Effing Press, to gather inspiration and ideas for Katie, and it just astounded me to think about all of the talent and creativity out there for design and type.

In the midst of my search, I fell in love with Jessica Hische and her Daily Drop Caps. I can’t get enough of this girl. A freelance designer, illustrator, and typographer – I want to be her.

Her Daily Drop Cap is an ongoing project in which she creates a new hand-crafted initial cap every day for bloggers to use freely on their sites. See, she’s talented and generous.

Some of my favorite drop caps:

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Jessica Hische

Talk about some sexy type.

And if I had it  my way, meaning if I had tons of money, I would buy all of her prints, especially the limited edition two-color letterpress print of the complete alphabet of the Daily Drop Cap, never to be reprinted, for $225. Le sigh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin, Blogging, Bookmaking, Poetry, Writing

Leave a Reply

