Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies


Peanut butter is good for everyone – athletes who needs juts of protein and sugar,  school children who love the comforting PB&J for lunch every day, dogs, and just regular-o people like me who just like to slather it on everything.

Except for babies. Peanut butter is not so good for babies. The gooey-ness makes for a severe choking hazard, plus they could be allergic. Thus, no peanut butter for babies.

I like peanut butter in and on just about anything sweet, although eating globs of it by the spoonful can be quite unattractive. You know what I’m talking about. It’s that nasty smacking, “crap, I have goo all over the roof of my mouth” sound that goes with eating globs of peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Cookies

That’s why the peanut butter cookie is my favorite way to get my peanut butter fix. The amount of peanut butter used (1 cup!) is enough to give me some serious peanut satisfaction and it still calls for a few nice gulps of cold milk to wash things down.

Peanut Butter Cookies

And just to snazzify and make these cookies uber-delicious, we’ve added chocolate AND peanut butter chips.

Peanut Butter Cookies with Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chips
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen and the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook

All you need:

1 and 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 t baking soda
1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened
1 c. peanut butter at room temperature – I used smooth, but there is no harm in using chunky.
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. firmly packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 T milk
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 c. peanut butter chips
1/2 c. chocolate chips
Optional – Extra 1 T sugar for sprinkling

Peanut Butter Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, the baking soda, the baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In another large bowl, beat the butter and the peanut butter together until fluffy. Get ready because you are about to add a ton of stuff. First, add the sugars and beat until smooth. Then add the egg and mix well. Next, add the milk and the vanilla extract. And then do some more adding of the flour mixture and beat thoroughly.

Stir in the peanut butter and chocolate chips. If you want to sprinkle with extra sugar, place the remaining tablespoon on a plate. Drop small balls of the dough in the sugar and cover. Then place the balls on ungreased cookie sheets, leaving several inches between for expansion.

I completely forgot to do this step and it made me sad because making the little criss-crosses was my favorite step as a child: Using a fork, lightly indent with a criss-cross pattern, but do not overly flatten cookies. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Do not overbake. Cookies may appear to be underdone, but they are not. You want them to be slightly cakey and moist on the inside.

Cool the cookies on the sheets for 1 minute, then remove to a rack to cool.

Serve with a glass of milk and friends.

Peanut Butter Cookies

I’d like to thank (or should I say “blame”) my dear grandmother for getting me addicted to peanut butter cookies as a child.

3 Comments

Filed under Austin, Food

3 responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Glorious Weekend Happenings: Garden Party, Studio Tours, National Peanut Butter Month « Bird Fly Good

  2. Mmmmm those look delicious. I am not one for making cookies or anything – I make a meaner sandwich or salad – but still…

    -Tiffany

    • birdflygood

      They are delicious! And easy to make. But I heart baking. I wish I was more of a sandwich maker myself. My mom bought me a panini maker for Christmas a few years ago and I haven’t used it since. 😦

Leave a Reply

