It’s the Last Day of Summer, Sort Of


Autumn is almost here. It’s so close I can smell the cold air already. Well, maybe it’s not exactly that close. The first official day of fall is tomorrow, September 22, but Central Texans will continue to get 90 degree weather through the end of October because that’s just Texas. So this has me thinking that the September Equinox is more about the cardinal directions than woolly scarves, Jack O’Lanterns, or Thanksgiving. Tomorrow will be one of just two days out of the entire year when the sun will be directly above one point on the equator, meaning that at 5:18 p.m. eastern daylight time we will be able to identify the true east and west cardinal directions using the sun.

I don’t know about you, but knowing that makes me feel all eerkie inside, like maybe I should go make my own modern Mayan calendar or Stonehenge replica using the perfect cardinal directions that the sun will so kindly identify for me.

I guess the good thing is that the equinoxes happen twice a year and every year. So if I don’t get to building that calendar or prehistoric monument in 2009, I know there is always next year.

But in honor of the summer of records – i.e. record-high heat, record-low rain, and record-high unemployment – I encourage all of us to take the time to reflect on our own summer 2009. What made it great? And if it wasn’t so great, what can you do to make summer 2010 even better?

I’m just trying to figure out what I can do to keep from melting away next year because, for some reason, record heat doesn’t seem so hard to break anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin

Leave a Reply

